Recipes · Uncategorized

Clean Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Are you craving carbs and sweets but do not want to cram your body full of ingredients that will leave you feeling miserable? Fear not, this clean chocolate chip banana bread is here to save the day. The first time I made this bread I had just come out of a rough month at work. It was one of those times in life where stress makes you want chocolate and every unhealthy food to ever be produced on this planet. Being a logical woman who is obsessed with researching nutrition facts, I knew that giving into these cravings would simply make me feel worse and would not help the body that had pushed hard to get me through the tough month… Did I want to listen to that logic? NO. I wanted carbs, pizza, cheese, chocolate. And most of all, I wanted banana bread. I looked into recipes for zucchini bread to try to tempt myself into eating some type of bread that would give me a little bit of veggies, but no. I was stubbornly insisting on a banana and chocolate based treat and nothing else would suffice. So I finally decided that was it. I would go ahead and come up with a recipe for a clean chocolate chip banana bread. And it was majestic…. I’m mildly tempted to just leave it at that and make you wonder forever how I made it.

11
The Final Product

But that would be mean. So here we go.

This recipe was inspired by the cookbook Against All Grain: Delectable Paleo Recipes to Eat Well & Feel Great. I added some tweaks of my own, but I would highly suggest checking out the cookbook, I’m constantly inspired to try new clean recipes with it!

To start, preheat your oven to 425°F and grease your pan with coconut oil. If you have a bread pan, go ahead and use that. If you’re like me and have a very random collection of pans, none of which work well for baking bread, consider using a meal prep container!

The container I used here is a Pop-It container – these containers save my life constantly. They come in a bunch of sizes and are microwave and oven safe. I ended up refrigerating the bread, so it was perfect to have it all ready in a container. I popped the lid on top of the container and the bread stayed good for a full week and a half.

Now that your pan is ready, go ahead and combine the bananas and coconut milk until it forms a soft mixture. This specific recipe is egg-free, so we are going to use flax seeds and water as an egg replacement. To do this, mix 4 tbsp flax seed meal with 3/4 cups water (just FYI, this is 3 tbsp water for every tbsp of flax seed). If you would prefer to put eggs in the recipe, this correlates to 4 eggs.

3
Bananas make the best bread!

Let the flax seed and water mix sit by itself for 5 minutes and then add into the mix. Further add the coconut oil, honey, vanilla  and balsamic vinegar, and mix well.

4
Stir it up well!

Now you’re ready for the dry ingredients. We’re going to make this gluten-free bread. I used a gluten-free all purpose baking flour but you could also use almond flour or coconut flour.  Add baking soda and salt and stir until the mix is blended well.

Fold in the chocolate chips. This bread would still taste amazing without the chocolate chips if you want to cut sugar further. However, chocolate feeds the soul, so keep that in mind when making the decision.

15
Ready for the oven!

Pour the mix into your container and put in the oven at 425°F for 45-60 min.

16
I kept sneaking peeks because it looked so good!

Your kitchen will smell AMAZING as this bakes. At the end, you’ll have this beautiful bread just begging to be eaten.

13

So yummy!

11

Ingredients: 

  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 4 tbsp flax seed mixed with 12 tbsp water
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 c gluten-free baking powder (Bob’s Red Mill is my favorite)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 coconut milk
  • 3 large ripe bananas
  • 1/2 c chocolate chips (if desired)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Baking Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F.
  2. Mix bananas and coconut milk together until well-blended and smooth.
  3. Combine flax seed with water and let sit for 5 minutes.
  4. Add flax seed and water mix to bowl.
  5. Add coconut oil, honey, vanilla and balsamic vinegar, and mix well.
  6. Add 3/4 c gluten-free all-purpose baking flour.
  7. Add baking soda and salt and mix well until smooth.
  8. Fold in chocolate chips.
  9. Pour into baking pan and top with cinnamon.
  10. Bake at 425°F for 45-60 min until toothpick comes out clean.
  11. Serve warm and enjoy!
9
Let me know in the comments what you think!

 

 

One thought on “Clean Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

